Busy busy busy little bee

Do you ever get so busy that at a certain point your eyes start to sting a little bit, because you’re thàt exhausted? If you haven’t experienced that wonderful aspect of life yet, I praise you and your obviously wonderful lifestyle. However, there is something to be said about living life to the fullest.

For a couple of months now, I have been learning how not to sleep. Or better yet: how to seem like I’m still an actual person after having had very little sleep. And guess what? I am very good at it. Granted, there can be moments where my eyelids take over my eyes and there’s simply no escape from looking like a sleeping person – though I will probably not be sleeping, because I can only do that while lying down in a bed with the sheets tucked in underneath me (like a cocoon!) and wearing earplugs – but usually I’m pretty good at remaining active and conscious about the world around me. And that’s cool. The fact that I can do that. I thought I’d lost that ability in my early college years.

You see, once upon a time I’d go out until 5 am and still make it to class at 11 am completely alright. Those days are over. I’m no longer 19 – turned 23 in January! – and my classes now start at 9 am. Yet somehow, in some kind of lost corner of my mind, I can often still maintain a proper persona even when dead tired. And the best part about it: the reason why I often don’t sleep the mandatory 8 hours, is because I am enjoying my life to the fullest.

No sleep for me, I’m meeting up with friends. The bed can wait, I’m enjoying a crazy good book or television show. No shut-eye just yet, because I still want some time to let my mind play out all its quirky imaginings. And that’s fun, you know? I’m not sleeping enough, I know that. But it’s not because I have too much stress. There’s stress, yes, but I can handle it and it’s not really a problem. And I’m also not getting enough sleep, because I’m worried about things or whatever. I’m just enjoying life too much. There’s just so many fun things to do – sleep also being one of them, mind you! – and not enough hours in the day to do ’em. So… Sleep can wait. I can sleep when I’m dead. Though I should consider the possibility of death by insanity thanks to sleep deprivation… Hmmmz… Worries for another time, my dear!

To conclude: this is what I look like when the eyelids do have their victory ;-)

I don't always win...

 

Published by

frillicious

I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun. - Katharine Hepburn

Shout at will!

