20 years later…

Do you ever wonder what you will look like in 20 years? If you’re going to be a totally different person? Or maybe you hope to see the same person, just slightly differently clad?

Today, I was looking at pictures from when I was like really young. You know, the “obnoxious years”, haha! I was interested in checking them out, because soon I’ll be starting my job and we’re supposed to find a clever way to introduce ourselves. The UK Team is thinking about doing a “then-now” sort of thing, so I set out to look through old albums. And I found… This:

"3 years old"
“3 years old”

This is me, exactly 20 years ago, during the summer of 1994 in the area of Bretagne, France. And when you get done laughing at the epicness of that picture – I mean, what’s not to love? The cutesy hairstyle? The pink sandals with white socks? The glamorous sunglasses? The stylish tracksuit? Or the old doll I’m holding like it’s a prop? …
Okay? Are you done now? With the laughing? Alright, perfect. So then I can continue what I was going to say, which is this: not that much has changed over the years.

Sure, I’ve gotten better at dressing myself, a skill which I started developing around age 11. And my blond locks are a bit darker now, tinged with some red when the light catches it just right. It was a dark day when I understood from my friend that wearing socks & sandals at the same time is a big no-no, but I’ve moved on and I’m better for it, I believe. But other than that… I still have an epic pair of sunglasses like that. My prop isn’t a doll anymore, but has turned into my phone or perhaps even my laptop. In addition, I will forever be in love with the color pink – though I did lose it for a while during puberty; being rebellious & whatnot – and sandals are cool at any age. “Free your toes!”, or something like that.

For me, it’s not about what I’m wearing in this picture… It’s about the way I looked when I was freakin’ 3 years old! I’m sorry, I’m so not the bragging type, but this is just an epic picture. I was cool when I was 3. I mean, come on! That’s just awesome :’). And while I’ll have changed plenty over the past 20 years, I’m still the same girl who likes doing her own thing and won’t apologize for it. Which is, I guess, exactly how I look in this picture.

So, I don’t know. I’m going off soon, off into the deep, taking the plunge and hoping the water will carry me back to the surface. But if I was able to pull off a ridiculous tracksuit at age 3, I’m feeling confident in facing this next adventure. An adventure, which will begin across from where this picture was taken 20 years ago. Wish me luck!

Published by

frillicious

I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun. - Katharine Hepburn

Shout at will!

