Learning about… Beer & everything else.

So it’s been a while since I’ve been here. But in my defense: my free time has been somewhat non-existent from the moment I got on the train to London almost a month ago. However, I’m back and ready to give you guys an update on what I’ve been doing lately.

First and foremost: settling in has been hard. The UK may be just a 2 hour train ride away, the culture is vastly different. From bank accounts that just can’t seem to get sorted out, to fries they only fry once and which taste more like potato than anything else. It’s been somewhat of a culture shock, though I agree that the meaty pies they have here are quite delicious! :-)

Luckily, there are some cool people here who make it easier to find my way around. We’re almost a bit like a dysfunctional family. There’s the sweet and organised one. She’s got a birthday today, so happy birthday girl!! Celebrate every minute! ;-) We’ve got an Oxfordish Zimbabwean who’s got dance moves you wouldn’t believe unless you saw them for yourself, haha! There’s the one with the eternally sunny disposition. Her laugh is infectious! You’ve got the cool party dude with a heart of gold. There’s the guy who’s a blend of some “old fartiness behaviour” and some slick “James Bond suaveness”, which is really a brilliant combination. And then there’s the enigma. A girl whose big hair reminds me of my best friend and who’s got so many different sides you cannot classify her. But that’s alright. Somehow we all get along :-).

Secondly, after 2 weeks of “brainwashing” from the higher-ups about how awesome the company is, we’ve now just finished our first week of meeting the “real people” who make everything actually possible. Though I’m not a fan of the uniform – those steel toe boots make your feet feel like logs you have to carry around – I am a fan of the people. They’re nice, their jobs are tough and they are – most deservedly so – hella proud of their work. It’s just really interesting to see what happens behind the scenes.
I’m a marketing girl through and through, but the amount of hard work and commitment that goes into the supply side of things – a side without which the business wouldn’t even exist – is absolutely astounding. So while the technical side of supply will probably never be “my thing”, I’m looking forward to understanding it and helping out in whichever way I can :-).

Of course, all of this means nothing without some physical proof, right? You really thought I’d leave you hanging? Here you go guys, this is how I look when I’m down on the shop floor, in all my flashy glory!

IMG_0019.JPG

IMG_0020.JPG

 
Ain’t I the fashionable one? ;-) See you next time!

Cheers, L.

 

Published by

frillicious

I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun. - Katharine Hepburn

Shout at will!

