The mystery of the “bromance”

If you’re like me, then you have a bunch of friends. If you’re like me, then sometimes some of those friends get together and start “something special”. And if you’re like me, sometimes that “something special” is called “a bromance”.

Over the years, I’ve had several of my guy friends start a bromance with someone. It’s like this otherworldly feeling between two people you can’t really explain, but I’ll try to describe it. Let’s take one recent example: two guys I see on a day-to-day basis have – in my humble, honest opinion – started a phenomenal bromance. And according to my perceptive nature, I believe it to be rooted in the following aspects:

A) They have found each other by coincidence. Through sheer happy luck they met and are now going strong with the endless gazing into each other’s eyes. And everybody knows that something isn’t real until it happens purely by chance. So that put me on the track to believing their attraction to be more than just friendship…
B) They giggle like little school girls amongst one another. This is what definitely roused my suspicions about their relationship becoming a bromance. It doesn’t get much more obvious than when they’re left to their own devices, which then generates this extraordinary girly sound from two very manly men indeed.
C) They seem to be perfectly made for each other. Whereas the one is more like a suave, old school grandpa – but with the flair of James Bond – the other is more like a young, wide-eyed puppy very eager to be transported into another time. Together they just click and become a slightly devious duo, a force to be reckoned with, as it were. I would advise everybody to not sit in between them or interrupt their hushed conversations. Do so at your own peril!

Now, all this is what I believe to be a thorough root-cause analysis of how their bromance came to be. But one key ingredient is missing. And that would be… Their conjoined wickedness for all things funny! My god how these men can share their innermost jokes by only a look?! And it doesn’t stop there! No, why would it?! Secretive texts! Even a whole new language, spoken in code so only they would be able to understand each other’s meaning. It’s like they have resurrected a new Rosetta’s stone, the bromance edition. I am utterly in awe by the advanced nature of their relationship. It goes beyond anything I have ever seen! It’s almost like I’m a scientist, able to study this new form of manly behaviour. If possible, I would even intend to write a book about it in the near future. The possibilities are truly endless in observing this fascinating development, would you not agree?

I wonder at this manly relationship, the bromance, and I am curious to how other females perceive it. Are any of us XX-chromosomed people jealous of two guys, going to the gym together, possibly showering together too? Can we be held responsible even, for not obtaining their attention in a significant manner and thus perhaps forcing the two together – creating a bromance? Are we at fault here? Or have the men in our lives finally understood the powers of bonding with someone of the same sex, no actual sex included?

I don’t believe I will be able to solve this mystery completely tonight. And I certainly don’t think anyone in their right mind would take me seriously right about now. But perhaps that’s not the point of today’s post. Maybe, just maybe, I just felt like writing down some jibber-jabber and sharing that with the world. Last year, at school, we had this saying: “Sharing is caring!” Now, I ask you: isn’t that romantic?

“The Peak District. An inspiration to many. Romantic to all.”
Published by

frillicious

I never lose sight of the fact that just being is fun. - Katharine Hepburn

Shout at will!

